Whisper: A Legend Reborn

S_swimmer

The Speedo
Reaction score
No. It cannot end like this.

That thought reverberates throughout my head as I take another painful step forward. I know that I must live on, because I am the only person left who witnessed it. The others are all dead. I remember the dread-filled days slowly watching my companions being picked off by starvation, hostile civilizations, and other factors too horrifying to recount. I remember when my companion's fear slowly turned into isolation, then into madness, and, finally, death.​

At that moment, I knew I must answer the call.​

Starvation and dehydration slowly disintegrate my sanity like a corrosive acid. I have been wandering in the Far Lands for about 2 years now. There is nothing in the Far Lands. No dwarves, no elves, no man. Not even monsters make their home here. The Far Lands are bare of all civilization.​

I begin to hallucinate. I see an oasis, a fort, and a pile of food. I also see a huge, elegant arch. No... is that arch..... real?​

I don't have time to figure out, because at that moment, I fall face-first into the sand, and let the darkness envelop me as my vision goes black and my mind slips away.​

My ears are the first to wake up.​

"You just found him in front of the arch?" a voice said.​

"Yes," said another voice. "He was knocked out and he was near death. It is a miracle he hadn't died already. He was murmuring about 'answering the call.'"​

"Well then, I think we found our new priest. Oh, here, he's waking up."​

I open my puffy eyes to see two odd creatures staring down at me. It takes me some time to realize that these two creatures are humans. The excitement to see fellow humans excites me so much, I almost pass out again.​